Monday 23 August 2010

New Chaplains of Honour

Three members of the Catholic Association have been appointed a "Chaplain of Honour" by the Bishop of Tarbes & Lourdes in recognition of their promotion of the "Message of Lourdes and pilgrimage to the Grotto".

Fr. Tony Lester, O.Carm, Monsignor William Saunders of Southwark Archdiocese, and Fr. Nicholas King, S.J., of the Society of Jesus all receive the Chaplain of Honour.

The announcement was made on 12th July by the President of the Catholic Association Hospitalité, Colette Sharrock.

The citation makes reference to the three priests' work in promoting Lourdes and its spirituality by their preaching, writings, retreat-inputs, and their serviceof the sick. All three have committed themselves to Lourdes and the Catholic Association for a number of years. Fr Tony and Fr Nick are members of the HNDL and the CA Hospitalité, and work in the Accueil each year. Mgr William has been Pilgrimage Director of the CA for a number of years, and is a member of the CA Hospitalité.

Chaplains of Honour were first appointed in 1909 by Bishop Schoepfer to recognise priests who for the most part are not resident in Lourdes but who nevertheless contribute to the Shrine's pastoral life and outreach. Chaplains of Honour are presented with a distinctive insignia - a cross with Marian symbols.

Fathers Lester, Saunders and King received their new insignia at the celebration of Mass at the Grotto on 23rd August. The insignia was presented in the name of Monsignor Jacques Perrier, Bishop of Tarbes & Lourdes, by Bishop Paul Hendricks, Auxiliary Bishop of Southwark and Chair of the Catholic Association.
Photo taken by Johan Bergstrom-Allen

1 comment:

  1. Well done to these three - it's really wonderful for our Pilgrimage to receive such honours and clearly well deserved. I remember Fr Nicholas very well from the 80's. Well done, everyone.